Spring! (And how they used to plaster ceilings in the 1940s)

3

April 2, 2017 by ChrisJamesAuthor

ButterflySeldom do the seasons change so dramatically, but this weekend has seen temperatures shoot up to +24 degrees Celcius in Warsaw, and with blazing sunshine, the garden is exploding about as much as nature can explode at this time of the year.  I know I should be a good blogger and list all of the butterflies and snails and flowers and plants and budding trees, but I’m a bit wrapped up in my WIP (Work In Progress for the non-writers among you), so if you’ll excuse me, I’ll just leave you with the pictures.  You’re very clever people, so I’m sure you know all of the names of these florae and fauna (and if you do, could you let me know?  Thanks!).

Bud1

Bud2

Bud3

Bud4

Bud5

Bud6

Bud7

One other project I’ve been working on this weekend is the demolition of the old house at the end of our garden.  Built in 1948, I was shocked to find out just what they had to do before plasterboard was invented.  Really, this looks like hideous work, and I even felt guilty about ripping the ceiling down:

Ceiling1

On the right, you can see the joists, then the wooden boards.  So, once they’d nailed the boards up, they then covered them with dried reeds.  One person must have held the reeds in place while another secured them with thin metal wire.  Here’s a close-up:

Ceiling2

This shows that the metal wire had to be nailed on every board, and there’s a length of this metal wire every ten centimetres across the entire ceiling.  Only then, when they’d done that hideous work, could a fine-sand-and-lime mixture be applied and a smooth, finished ceiling rendered.  It really must have been the most draining graft, and this week, 69 years after they did it, I came along and ripped it all down *sigh*

3 thoughts on “Spring! (And how they used to plaster ceilings in the 1940s)

  1. acflory says:

    Lovely pics, Chris. And no, sorry, I don’t know the names. 🙂 What do you plan on doing once the old house is completely demolished?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

